creato e ideato da Ste Lucchese


Jaguar are a heavy metal Band formed in Bristol, England in December 1979. They had moderate success throughout Europe and Asia in the early 80's during the heyday of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement.


The original December '79 lineup consisted of Garry Pepperd (Guitar), Jeff Cox (Bass,Vocals) and Chris Lovell (Drums). In the following April Rob Reiss was added as vocalist/frontman. They built a strong local reputation and recorded two demos the latter of which earned them a deal with Heavy Metal Records, and in 1981 they released single Back Street Woman, a NWOBHM cult classic which sold over 4,000 copies.

In 1982 a strong performance at a Dutch rock festival won them a new deal with Neat Records and subsequent single Axe Crazy sold well. After intensive touring, debut album Power Games was released in early 1983. They were well known in British heavy metal circles and prospects were promising. Follow up album This Time followed in 1984 and was a marked change of direction.

This change of direction alienated much of their core audience and sales and interest evaporated. By the end of the year there was little interest in them and the band folded.

A revival of interest in the NWOBHM in Europe and Japan and a successful re-release of their first album in those regions propmpted a reformation in 1999, with modified lineup of Pepperd, Jeff Cox, Nathan Cox on drums and vocalist Jamie Manton. An album Wake Me followed in 2000. However Jeff Cox was then replaced by Darren Furze. Next album Run Ragged appeared in 2003. The band are still active on the worldwide Heavy Metal circuit. In 2007 the band released 2 new albums of live material. The first release was a recording from a live show the band performed in Holland in 1982 which originally saw only a limited release. The second is the first of three planned releases covering this legendary NWOBHM acts early, unreleased recordings, Titled Archive Alive Vol.1 it covers the period of the band’s greatest glories, the birth of the band and their rise to NWOBHM prominence. Early versions of acknowledged and revered classic can be heard, along with sleeve notes by guitarist Garry Pepperd and rare and unseen photos.

On 22 March 1980 and 22 December 1980 Jaguar laid down 6 tracks that would be released on a demo cassette that became available in early 1981. Track details are:

Stormchild (cox) - Ain't No Fantasy (pepperd) - War Machine (pepperd) - Battlecry (cox/pepperd) - Feel The Heat (pepperd) - Piledriver (cox/pepperd)

Incidentally credit for the Jaguar Logo goes to J Granfield with alterations by 'Mouse'. 2010 will see the release of Jaguar's long awaited new album since 2003's Run Ragged



  • Power Games (1983) Neat Records
  • This Time (1984) Roadrunner
  • Wake Me (2000) Neat Metal
  • The Anthology (2001) Sanctuary
  • Run Ragged (2003) Angel Air
  • Holland 82 (2007) Majestic Rock
  • Archive Alive Vol. 1 (2007) Majestic Rock
  • This Time Remaster (2009) Metal Mind


  • Back Street Woman (1981) Heavy Metal
  • Axe Crazy (1982) Neat

Present Band Members:

  • Garry Pepperd - Guitar
  • Will Sealey - Drums
  • Simon Patel - Bass
  • Jamie Manton - Vocals
Power Games (1983) Neat Records
This Time (1984) Roadrunner
Wake Me (2000) Neat Metal
Run Ragged (2003) Angel Air